Diary of a Kenyan girl in India

Pondycherry

This coastal town that appears in Life of Pi is called the `French Riviera of the East’. Formerly a French colony, its found in the South Indian State of Tamilnadu. It’s a 3 hrs drive (150Kms) from Chennai, the nearest city and can be accessed by public buses, taxis and for the very adventorous ones, by motorbike. I love Pondy as we call it and many a weekend has been spent here.

The thing about Pondycherry is you forget that you are in India – the clean litter free streets, the buildings which are French villa styled, the names of the streets and hotels, the cuisine served in restaurants and the throng of tourists (mostly French) who frequent this place –  to be found on their bikes all over town.

My husband and I brought some Kenyan friends here who ended up staying longer than they intended, too busy chilling and enjoying Pondy. There’s always a breeze in the pubs and balconies of resorts as the Bay of Bengal beats the shorelines of Pondy. I would not recommend swimming in the waters though, the currents are strong!

There’s a park to chill out with friends and if not in the mood to walk around this serene place you can hire bicycles or motorcycles for dirt cheap prices to take you exploring. You can then bike to Auroville and immerse yourself in holistic living and teachings of Sri Aurobindo.

Restaurants in Pondy serve great seafood cuisine as you sip your beer and in the evenings there is always an event or party to attend. I have attended a Music Festival by the beach by some great Indian rock bands, gone for talks and performances organised by Alliance Francaise but mostly it’s the overnight beach parties that I find myself in while in Pondy 🙂

I guess I’ll let the pictures tell why I like Pondy.

so clean and quiet

so clean and quiet

pondy2

It's still India- no one following rules :)

It’s still India- no one following rules!

I attended this event :)

I attended this event 🙂

balcony

In the Park

In the Park

coastal line

coastal line

Bliss :)

Bliss 🙂

As I said, the tides are strong!

As I said, the waves are strong!

Visit pondycherry sometime.

 

Comments on: "Pondycherry" (3)

  1. really need to go to India

Leave a Reply

